Cracked Frame Plate Template (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've been tracking down the source of my wobble, I've checked all the usual suspects a few times over but never looked closely at my frame. Well, it was cracked as all get-out:

There were two completely loose chunks of metal in the photo above, I could tap on them and hear them click!

The wheel/steering box side had a few cracks as well, including the entire bottom weld on the panhard tower to the frame:

What an awful, stupid design on Toyota's part. This absolutely should have reinforcement from the factory, there is a ton of stress concentrated right here!

Since I'm an engineer, I drew up some templates in my modeling software and iterated the design until I like the fit I was getting using paper cutouts. I cut out reinforcing plates from 1/4" steel because that's what I had on hand. I got everything down to bare metal using a wire wheel on my grinder then I plasma cut/filled/ground all the cracks I could easily reach (which unfortunately was not most of them).

Below is a link to my template files in PDF format. They were made for my RHD HDJ81 however I think they should work for LHD applications. Hopefully this saves someone some time in the future!
Dropbox - Frame Weld.PDF

Here are the 2 separate plates I made for the engine side being welded on (not really enough room to make one single piece):

...and here's the plate for the steering box/wheel side ready to weld on:

The finished product after being painted with 3M undercoat spray: