Clutch replacement 350 4 speed with Downey Bell housing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hopefully I will be able to articulate what I am looking for from the collective expertise on the forum. First for everything here. First FJ40, first time replacing any clutch, first time dropping a transmission, first ever forum. I am a novice mechanic but can get things done. Thank god for youtube.

What I have:
72 Fj40 with a 350 GM conversion. Toyota 4 speed tranny not sure the transfer case but pretty sure its the original. I think most of the FJ is a 75 actually with a 72 body. From my research the conversion is a Downey.

The Problem:
Lost my clutch out of the blue. I was driving and pressed my clutch to shift down. Thought i was in neutral but truck died then I couldn't out of 3rd gear. Eventually after clutching it in and out several times I got it into 2nd and limped home. lost the clutch 2 more times on the way home. So I decided now it's time to learn how to fix it.

Where I am at now:
I eventually dropped the tranny which sucked doing it by myself, but the beast is out. Bell housing and transfer case all attached to the tranny. I plan on replacing the seals and gaskets on the transfer case since there are leaks. I think the tranny is working just fine. Also I am going to replace the clutch and pressure plate. Replace the rear main and do what I need to do with the fly wheel. New slave Cylinder.

Needing advice on:
Transfer case. Any heads up or advice/guidance on getting it off the tranny and replacing the gaskets and seals.I was gonna get the parts from SOR. It seems straight forward but that always tends to bit me in the arss down the line.
What clutch and pressure plate set up is best for this 350 conversion? I ave no clue, never done one before and here is a lot of info to digest out there.