81 Proof - Build Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'll start with a small introduction to myself and then the vehicle. I am a professional photographer based out of Grand Junction, Colorado - I have been wheeling and traveling since I was a kid with my father and previously owned a 2006 Tacoma I built for my needs. I have always wanted to do a proper build thread for one of my trucks (to hopefully help others with issues and solutions I find, and to be able to see and show the growth of a rig to others). So without further ado here is a build thread for my 1991 HDJ81 VX Limited!

After selling my old Tacoma I knew I wanted an 80 series Land Cruiser. I searched the American market for a couple months before researching the diesel models and deciding that the benefits of an imported cruiser outweighed the disadvantages. I picked up the truck on June 18th 2020 after being imported by Steve with Land Cruisers Direct. The truck had 157,000km on it and has all the factory options (swingout, fridge console, winch, headlight washers, altimeter/compass, etc.). Here is the first pictures I took of the truck, just minutes after leaving Steve's shop. Before picking up the truck I had a bit of work done to the truck as well:

1. Big End Bearings
2. Timing Belt w/ Pulley (Toyota)
3. Accessory Belts (Toyota) and Idler Pulley (Gates)
4. Accessory Gauges for EGT, Boost, Transmission Temp, and Coolant Temp (Glowshift)
5. Leather Seat Covers Installed

If you want to see more adventure pictures with the cruiser check out @81.proof on Instagram. Lots more to come in this thread, I will try to post updates with any modifications and issues/fixes that are made!

20200618_007.jpg
20200618_011.jpg
20200618_004.jpg