80 series - Help with cooling system (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all,

I have a 1994 LC. I’m a noob.

Truck has been overheating. I have to fill coolant directly into the radiator before I drive. I looked underneath and thought I found the issue. Lower radiator hose, looked like the source of the leak.

I replaced the lower radiator hose. Drained coolant in process.

Filled overflow, and I think I didn’t put enough into the radiator, it was not topped off for sure.

This is where I made the mistake I think. I turned the truck on and went to the post office. Started overheating.

Did I not put enough coolant in the radiator or was it because of the air let in to the radiator? Or something else

Old hose pic attached

Thanks everyone!

BA3D919E-0C1D-48CA-B473-8A6CEE9664F1.jpeg

The radiator should be full, and the overflow tank should be filled about 2/3rds. Don't be surprised if after getting it to temp ad the system cooling down that the overflow may be low or empty. Air in the system expands and bubbles into the overflow tank when the engine is hot - purging the air out of the system. When the system cools it creates a vacuum that pulls the coolant from the overflow tank back into the system. Once the air is purged the overflow level stays pretty static.

Just cause it is mud I have to say it - it is probably your headgasket. Welcome to mud. Also just incase you don't know - don't mix coolant colors. If it has toyota red use that, if it has prestone green use that.