Builds 1978 FJ-40 R2.8 Cummins Build - "Mater" (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

rossl

SILVER Star
Threads
It is finally time to start a build thread. I purchased a 1978 FJ-40 in 2011 fully intending to rebuild it at the time. Up until now other projects have gotten in the way. When I bought it my wife thought it was just as rusty as "Mater", the tow truck from cars. The name has somehow stuck.

This is how it looked when I first put it on the trailer to bring it home:
6e (2).jpg

While mostly complete, there are a ton of things wrong. The initial starting point was the previous owner told me they swapped to a Weber carb and couldn't ever get the engine to run. I am by no means a mechanic, but was willing to try to see if I could sort through the issues since I'd considered an engine swap anyway. Rust. This car has it, and has it bad in a lot of areas. Also lots of mismatched parts, hack jobs on wiring, wire hangers for door handles, mismatched tires, etc. This car has seen a lot of use and some abuse along the way. I'm hoping to try to make it right again and see if I can get it back on the roads.

Goals are to have a very reliable fun and trail vehicle. This car will never be my daily driver, but needs to be reliable. Plans are to use it for forest service roads, camping, and mild off-roading.

First order of business back in 2011 was to sort out the fact the car wouldn't start. It would crank, but never even cough or sputter. Again, I'm not a mechanic, but basic physics says I'm either not getting fuel or spark. Previous owner was kind enough to provide the Weber installation sheet, which kindly enough suggested pulling the fuel line and cranking it into a cup to see if fuel was flowing.

Good news - it was. Bad news, it was combined 50% with water. Bottom of the tank was full of pinholes and leaks in the top and northwest sunshine was mixing in with the fuel.

88.jpg