1970 Front License plate position??? (Generic bumper actually) (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

In Ohio you have to buy the 25 year valid “antique” plate and keep it in your vehicle. You can then get a plate that is from your year as long as it is color correct and run that one. Ohio no longer has a front plate requirement. I was lucky and got some year/color correct plates. But unlucky as my 72 plate says A74F. And everyone thinks it’s a 74. Wish I was a better tig welder and I would rearrange and correct some plates to be just what I wanted

In Arizona not sure why anything matters. You look on the state DMV website they are all kinds of specialty plates. Guessing if enough FJ40 owners want a special plate we could get one just.formFJ40s. There is a law against having any type of cover over you plate. It is also against the law for any license surround to cover Arizona. Yet see both regularly. Some yellowed covers and some tinted.

Getting back to Bumpers, I think we’ve hijacked Scota4570 post long enough. And I think Scota4570 has decided on filling in the holes on his new FJ40 bumper and I agree, that’s probably the best path forward if he’s looking for clean look, uninsured with extra holes. And I can ‘feel his pain’ not getting what he thought he was ordering. However, dealing with 50 year old hardware you gotta make the best of what you got….and add it to the STORY!

Be Good, Be Safe….Keep the shinny side up!

In Ohio you have to buy the 25 year valid “antique” plate and keep it in your vehicle. You can then get a plate that is from your year as long as it is color correct and run that one. Ohio no longer has a front plate requirement. I was lucky and got some year/color correct plates. But unlucky as my 72 plate says A74F. And everyone thinks it’s a 74. Wish I was a better tig welder and I would rearrange and correct some plates to be just what I wanted