Diesel Transplanted 80 series Registry (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

So 4bt and 6bt swappers.... how is all the toyota components holding up to the sledge hammer torque of these motors. I've contemplated swapping my 4bt in if i'm not in love with the turbo 3fe i'm building currently. But a guy who is very knowledgeable with diesel swaps in cruisers has warned me about lots of breakage to the toyota parts. Not really looking to do a one ton swap or anything like that.

I have been running a juiced up 6BT since 2015 and the only thing I broke was a rear driveshaft. This was climbing a steep wall at the end of the hole in the rock trail and I gave it a little too much skinny pedal. Axles, xfer case and diffs have all held up.

If you drive like a teenager, then yes you are more likely to break stuff, but if you’re smart about how your apply the power, then it is fine.

I second what @Dirty Koala said. Don't drive like a moron rolling coal and you'll be fine. So far (almost 80k miles into the swap) the worst damage I've done to a stock Toyota part was melting my washer fluid reservoir due to the proximity of the turbo. Replaced that unit and wrapped it in a turbo blanket and everything's good underhood.

So 4bt and 6bt swappers.... how is all the toyota components holding up to the sledge hammer torque of these motors. I've contemplated swapping my 4bt in if i'm not in love with the turbo 3fe i'm building currently. But a guy who is very knowledgeable with diesel swaps in cruisers has warned me about lots of breakage to the toyota parts. Not really looking to do a one ton swap or anything like that.