Power window homebrew fix! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
This is a drawing I made of 4 relays, desinged to work together so only 2 wires connect to a window motor. the poles + and - reverse, so the motor operates up and down.

I just wired this up in my truck for the driver window. it works good. it is important to wire it to switched power, cause two of the relays stay on while the switch is off.

You can use it for any power window.

you can substitute the 25A fuses for 15A or 20 A
while brewing this up, I could have used a switch, alone, but I get more satisfaction doing it my way.

2375309031_36429e8f6e.jpg

Last edited:
its a lot cleaner looking once the circuit is built. you can see my test motor there, along with the momentary double throw double pole. you can use a momentary double throw single pole, if you want.
im no artist, i know the drawing is kind of sloppy. but the effectiveness of the circuit is 100%!

2373307268_51f29fe685.jpg

Where do you mount the new switches?
Where do you mount the relays, how do I know what relays to purchase?
How do I get to the motor in the sun rooof?

I believe this is to replace the relays that make the rear window work, they tend to fail eventually. Mike's solution is much more durable. I don't like Wristy's "2 relays stay energized" method, but eh... it's not that big of a deal.

For relays that matter, I go to McMaster-Carr. Stay away from the crap that Radio Shack sells.

I believe this is to replace the relays that make the rear window work, they tend to fail eventually.

Well that I could see but Wristy said "driver's side window" which is why I asked.

I must have missed the "Why do this?" part of the thread. LOL

why i did it cause the PO jacked up the window sw so bad i didnt have all the parts to fix it, and it the wires to it were so jacked up i didnt wanna deal wit it so i cut em out and ran the new ones.