ZER0's LX470 Honeymoon Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone,

I recently started a thread on an AHC question on my new truck, but I figured a proper intro thread was in order.

I am an engineer and lifetime car guy who spent most of my time in the sports car/motorcycle world. I am in the difficult predicament of being a car guy in NYC, with all of parking and wrenching hurdles that brings. Most of the past 15 years or so I've wrenched on rusty Datsuns, a Miata and a whole range of naked bikes. I finally got fed up with my unreliable VW GTI daily driver and decided I needed something bigger, more dependable and more capable of handling the boulder-sized potholes in NYC. Driving in Brooklyn might as well be rock crawling.

I used to have a shared workshop in the South Bronx where my friends and I would wrench on our projects together in the evenings, but we sadly lost that space a few years back. I have a small workshop in the Brooklyn Navy Yard these days, but it is made out of shipping containers, and I can really only work on motorcycles there. All the car work I do these days is in a parking space under the Brooklyn Queens Expressway... I miss the old place, built my VQ35 powered 240z there.

ztrack.JPG

DSC_8900.JPG

Having given up on my VW, I decided to build something to serve as an awesome daily here in NYC, but also could be my fiancee's and my home for our honeymoon in August. We are planning a road trip across the country to hit a bunch of the state and national parks, as well as anywhere else beautiful and wild. We're thinking 75% camping and 25% hotels, so we wanted something tough and big enough for us, our stuff and our doggo to spend a few weeks in. The last major stop of this road trip will likely be our third visit to Burning Man in NV, an event we've flown to in the past.