Towing with a 55? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm considering an fj55 as a towing rig for my nautique (4500 lb/surge braked/500 lb tongue weight). Am I nuts? Is the 55 too light? I'd post a link to the vehicle in question but I'm just a newbie! I understand a sbc would likely be ideal, but would there be other concerns with this kind of weight? Thanks for any feedback-its appreciated.
Mark Krahn

Welcome to mud Mark!

I want to say a 55 can do it. I also obsess about cruisers like most here and if there's a way to make a cruiser do the task I will.

In stock form you're asking too much but you can always upgrade the drivetrain and people always do. A 2F won't be up to the job so a SBC will be needed. Do everything you can to make sure you have good cooling. With that much weight I might also consider air bags in the suspension. Would be interested in what people say would be the best transmission to use. My understanding is you want an auto.

I've never towed with a cruiser so very interested what others have to say.

On flat ground, at sea level, across town, one time - maybe. Any other use, no. I think owner's manual limits FJ55 towing to 2500#.

You'd want your trailer brakes to be 100% perfect. I presume this FJ55 is new enough to have front disk brakes? Does the trailer have tandem axles?

Thanks for the responses! Re the trailer, its a tandem axle, surge brake unit, calling for 5740 gvwr. I figure 5700 has got to be close considering the truck weight comes in at 4000. I have found specs limiting towing with an fj55 to 3750lbs, this would be a little more. Am I nuts?

The specs are under the assumption you are towing in stock form.

Beef it up and it can be done. Just a matter of what all needs to be beefed up. I would think axles are fine. A full floater swapped in would be a good upgrade.