Tie rod ball joint (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I'm attempting to rebuild my knuckles for the first time. I'm trying to separate the tie rod ROM the knuckle arm by pressing up in the tie rod and knocking the knuckle free. It wasn't working. So I used a ball joint seperater. As soon as I whacked it one time, a bunch of grease came out. I'm assuming I just blew the ball joint.

This is my first time working on a solid axle. I'm guessing I need to replace the ball joint now? Can you replace the ball joint or do you need a new tie rod? On my gs300, the upper control and ball joint are one piece. You can't replace the ball joint without buying a whole new arm or aftermarket arm with replaceable ball joints

IMG_20170129_144519971.jpg

You probably either split the boot, or just pushed grease out of it. It didn't necessarily hurt the tie rod end.

You don't need to remove it to service your knuckles. But if you do want to get it out, smack on the end of the steering arm REALLY HARD with a large hammer. (in your picture, swing the hammer from the right edge of the picture into the end of the arm) That's the method I've had the most success with, in every vehicle I've tried it on. Obviously, make sure the nut is loose first. :)

I'll inspect the boot soon. The FSM and a video I'm watching says to remove it. I used a regular carpenters hammer to try to knock it loose, no luck, so I stepped up to a 4-lb hammer, no luck. That's why I tried out the ball joint seperater.

When I wiggle the tie rod, I can hear metal on metal in the ball joint. If the boots not torn, and I squeezed the grease out, how do I get more grease in

And yes the nut was loose lol. I'm familiar with car work. This one's just barely been maintained before I got it last year and everything is a fight to break free