Thinking about picking up an fj60 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I'm currently a student at OIT studying mechanical engineering in Klamath Falls OR and I'm thinking about picking up an fj60. My purpose for the vehicle would be exploring around beautiful southern OR, getting back into trail heads for hiking/mountain biking/fishing etc, winter treks in the mountains for snowshoeing, and it would be my winter daily driver.

My question is what should I look for in an fj60???? I've always been a toyota guy but 2wd sport trucks have been my thing so I'm not at all familiar with landcruisers or most 4wd's for that matter.

The fj60 I'm looking at has 143,000 orig miles, straight, virtually no rust, 3 owners with maitenence records, and is unmodified. The manual choke sticks sometimes and it has an exhaust leak at the donut. Brand new tires and everything works. The guy only want $1,800 for it which seems like a deal too me. What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance for everyone's help. Hopefully my car will sell soon so I can pick this thing up.

Everything you have described sounds good. Get out your wallet and join the addiction.

Drive the cruiser.Drive for about half hour.Drive up the biggest hill you can find,drive slow, fast..no more than 3000 rpm.Does it get hot, shake,rattle etc.Does the clutch slip? Radiator leak? Any leaks under the cruiser? Will the spare tire go down or is the chain frozen in place?Take to a car wash or flood outside with a garden hose,any leaks to the inside?Let idle with a.c. on is a.c. cold, does car overheat?Dont be in a rush on your inspection. Good Luck!

Dang sounds like a good 60 for the price to me. There are fewer and fewer of them so I say Jump on it!