Stripped transmission pan bolt 95 80 series (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Good afternoon,

So this morning upon finishing up a full transmission flush with a drop of the pan to replace the filter and check on the status of things (new to me rig - 242k), the last pan bolt I put in upon reinstalling the pan seems to of stripped. The M6x1.0 bolt threads fully in, but never tightens, just keeps spinning. Seems the threads in the aluminum trans are toasted? I need recommendations on the best way to go about a repair here? Time-sert? Bore out to a bigger bolt? Thanks for the help!
-Nick

Helicoil for the win.

You could just try a tap chasing the threads and it might clean up the top. Easy win if it works if not helicoil.

You could just try a tap chasing the threads and it might clean up the top. Easy win if it works if not helicoil.
Oh ok good idea - I'll try that first. I'm new to helicoils; they would hold up for repeated use if I drop the pan again down the road?

Yes, they are stronger than the basic thread and considered a perminant repaire.

Oh ok good idea - I'll try that first. I'm new to helicoils; they would hold up for repeated use if I drop the pan again down the road?
Don’t worry, your threads will be stronger with an helicoil then before. Your non-helicoil threads will strip before your repaired one.

Yes, they are stronger than the basic thread and considered a perminant repaire.
I used helicoils a lot when i machined aviation parts, but in my case i much prefer the use of E Z LOC thread inserts over helicoils, In the case of the OP transmission pan i would use a E Z LOC insert, They are easy to install, and are easy to remove and replaced if the threads get damaged, They can be ordered in both carbon steel and stainless steel,
1711416341789.jpeg

1711416225796.jpeg