Splitrims, punctures, & puncture repair (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've been running splitrims for around 30 years.

The main reason for this thread is a "puncture-cause discovery" I made yesterday ... but I thought I'd expand it to include details on "DIY tyre changing" (relating to splitrims) because there doesn't seem to be much about this here on MUD.

(I'd be grateful if others who run splitrims can add their advice/experience to it too.)

So this all started with me experiencing a slow leak in my RH front tyre about a week ago. The pressure was dropping from my 35psi normal-pressure to about 10psi over a 4 day period.

1st step
Check the tyre for any tacks, nails, bits of glass etc sticking into it. ..... None in my case!

2nd step
Remove the offending wheel and remove the valve to allow all the air to escape easily:

Split01.jpg

(All my valve caps have heads for valve-removal.)

3rd step
Repeatedly run over it to break the bead from the rim.

Here you have to be BRUTAL and there is no point in mucking around with tyre-levers and hammers until you have the bead broken away COMPLETELY on BOTH sides.

I used the fence in my driveway to stop the wheel being pushed forwards each time my vehicle tried to mount it .... but if you're out in the sticks....a depression in the ground works just as well.)

Split01a.jpg

Split02.jpg
Split01.jpg
Split01a.jpg
Split02.jpg

4th step
With the tyre bead BELOW the "ring", start levering the ring away from the rest of the wheel.

And work your way around until you have the entire ring off"

Split03.jpg

Split04.jpg

Split05.jpg
Split03.jpg
Split04.jpg
Split05.jpg

5th step
Remove the tube:

Split06.jpg

Not forgetting to poke the valve stem inside:

Split07.jpg
Split06.jpg
Split07.jpg

At this point you should be able to easily just lift the tyre of the rim.