Refreshing or Updating the 62 brakes? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

HMP

Threads
So Im reading around on here a bit...ok, a lot (it's overwhelming, honestly), and Im seeing stuff about refreshing the brakes and some are using 2nd gen 4Runner front calipers etc...so what's the best route?

Are the 2nd gen 4R calipers better or lighter? Is it worth it to source a set from the junkyard? Or just try to rebuild what I got stock?

Im totally new to all of this, and I just want this car mechanically sound (and it's running fine now, though there's a small oil leak) and able to stop me well.

What things should I be looking to refresh on the braking system? Stainless lines or are the stock rubber units fine? Any pad (of reputable brand) sufficient? What fluid?

GUIDE ME.
And, as always, thanks in advance, appreciate yall helping on this new journey.

In my limited reading from the pros, if you are swapping part of it. Swap it all. So if 2nd gen 4Runner calipers, then also the MC and booster.

The pros can correct me hopefully

I did the 2nd gen 4R calipers, along with a dual diaphragm brake booster and a disk/drum master cylinder.
It made a noticeable difference, if your brakes are do for a refresh ( pads, maybe rotors ) I’d suggest you do the upgrade.

Don’t buy a used caliper from a junkyard, don’t know the history of the part you’re getting.
Your brakes are kind of important, on or off road. Buy a known quality brake or steering component.
It might be a bit more $$ when you purchase, but you can’t put a price on safety.

If the stock brakes were good enough for the Toyota engineers, they're good enough for me.

I ordered some remanufactured calipers from NAPA, and put in some decent quality pads. They work fine.