Pinion Crush Sleeve Reality (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I have been feeling a super subtle vibe when letting off the gas going down hill over 100kmh. it is very subtle like running over a patch of ruff road. I though it was maybe bad u joint and took the shaft off t check and found that there is a tiny amount of movement between the pinion flange and pinion. This makes me think the nut is loose, even though it is staked. It looks like the stake job still slowed it to move a small bit. Im no diff expert, so I have done a bunch of reading and. Get mixed information regarding the crush sleeve or lack of crush sleeve in a 40 series diff. some people say 40's don't have crush sleeves and use solid spacers and shims, yet. Read a lot of discussion of crush sleeves and see crush sleeve included in diff rebuild kits. so which is it? sleeve or spacer?

that all being said, If I have a spacer in there. can I just torque that nut back down and stake it properly? can anyone also tell me what the torque spec would be for the pinion nut on a 82 hj47? I have no FSM.

Thank you!!

No info the Haynes manual I could find = "torque to specified" was all it said.

Good luck. Nice vid too.

Thanks! looking at the diagram of the rear diff there doesn't appear t one a crush sleeve in there. but can anyone that has taken a rear diff apart confirm crush or solid?

This will let you see why you don't need a crush sleeve:

22463-2f25f1514cb95b78fd400d2eb51e18da[1].jpg

The pinon on the right is a factory pinion. No crush sleeve required.

This will let you see why you don't need a crush sleeve:

View attachment 3378125

The pinon on the right is a factory pinion. No crush sleeve required.