Newb: Input on High Mileage GX for Low Budget Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone,
First post here -- I've been perusing these forums quite a bit and this seems to be the best place for GX builds.

I find myself in the market looking for a Toyota 4 wheeler for some desolate camping, I'm new to this so let's say medium level off roading (I'll start slow-ish and go from there). Ideally I would get a V6 4runner (for the mpg) but the premiums they are demanding are pretty ridiculous in the bay area.

So, seeking value, I'm now in a GX wormhole trying to find a steal. I have found a couple of good one's that I'm contemplating going for and would love some input before taking the plunge.

I have found a couple '03 GX's ranging from $5500 to $8500. Both seem to be in good shape and have mileage ranging from 150-170K. Both have squeaky clean carfax (fwiw). Pricing seems dependent on the overall mintness & private seller vs. dealer.

I'm not particularly scared of high mileage Toyota's because you all know why....If I feel ready to pull the trigger I would have it inspected by a mechanic before making any final decisions.

First question - what would you advise I look out for? From what I gather, these are the weaker V8s, and KDSS wasn't introduced until 2004. I think I read somewhere that the 4wd needs to be exercised regularly to avoid problems with the TC - does that sound correct?

This is 90% a joy car for me so I'm trying to clamp down on costs. To start I would be going for tires, suspension upgrades, and rock sliders. Maybe down the road I would go for a rear locker and regear.

Any input is appreciated! Seems like y'all are a smart bunch based on all the information I've gathered perusing this forum. Thanks!