New owner needs help... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys, I've been creeping on these boards for quite a while now, but this is my first time posting so go easy on the newb. So here's how the story goes, I've been agonizing over getting an 80 for years but I never had an actual need or a valid reason to get one until a couple weeks ago when I finally pulled the trigger. I was able to pick up a 1996 LX450 with 148,000 miles for a pretty good deal, it looks mechanically sound but it's a little rough cosmetically. The guy I got it from seemed a little shady but as far as I can tell its a solid running machine, but I've still got that nagging fear that something is going to go terribly wrong with it. So far I've changed the oil and I was getting ready to flush the coolant and do the PHH bypass, but when I was down in the drivers side wheel well I noticed this cable that looks like it's not plugged in anywhere. Do any of you have any idea what this might be? Thank you guys!
IMG_1039.JPG

IMG_1039.JPG

I'm "guessing" it goes where that speaker wire is plugged into the starter? Possibly broken connector so it was bypassed? Chase that speaker wire and see if it taps into that harness upstream. Without seeing the connector its hard to say. I'll snap a pic in the morning and post it, mines a 96 as well.

I'm "guessing" it goes where that speaker wire is plugged into the starter? Possibly broken connector so it was bypassed? Chase that speaker wire and see if it taps into that harness upstream. Without seeing the connector its hard to say. I'll snap a pic in the morning and post it, mines a 96 as well.

I think Phildoh is right. Someone had a broken wire so they bypassed it with speaker wire.

You might want to redo that before your rig burns down to the axle.