New-to-me Fzj80. PHH condition — opinions? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Just got a ’97 FZJ80 and I’m going through the work of baselining and building confidence in the rig before taking it on longer trips from home. I’m new to the platform so really didn’t do good due diligence wrt common Fzj80 problems before purchase but so far seems nothing is terribly wrong with the truck

I haven’t had any coolant loss issues in the two months of ownership so far — but only about 600 miles driven. I do have full service records from the PO and from what I can tell, all the hoses are original. After spending too much time in the forums and learning about how frequently the PHH fails, I took a look at it. Rubber seems to be in good shape, no bulging, but I do see signs of leak in the rust at the junction of the metal and rubber. Wondering if others think this is an urgent, do-now fix or if I can get by until a trusted shop can get at it.

Obviously there a lot of threads about PHH so apologies for starting another. I have done search but each PHH is different and hard to search images for similar looking ones :)

5ECFD3B1-709B-4D7E-AD48-E01D4304E996.png

Replace it as the rubber is swollen as well as all other hoses. You don't want to make those repairs on the road.

That's original. You'll see its true condition when it comes off. Replace it & all the other coolant hoses, using constant tension clamps, not worm drive. Replace the heater control valve if it's old (top center on firewall, typically it will have turned brown if it's old)

PHH is done w/ wheel removed, and the skinny hose in front of it going up under the throttlebody (I believe bypass #1?) is easy with the throttlebody off. Then you can easily clean the TB, and while you have it off, it's a good time to do valve cover gasket, spark plug tube seals, and if it needs a tuneup - spark plugs, plug wires, etc