New 40 owner, new to the forum. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all, I'm glad I found this forum. It is a wealth of information like none other on Land Cruisers!

A little about me I guess, I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade. Mostly helicopters. I've been driving and working on Toyotas for many years now as a hobby...and because I don't like being bent over the table at a professional garage haha.

I'm about to retire from The Army, so my wife bought me a '78 FJ40 she found on Craigslist. 70k original miles, original motor and transmission. It runs great, but needs all the gaskets changed, the Webber carb tuned, and some general TLC/"While you're in there" kinda stuff. I also need to restore the hard top and doors, which aren't in bad shape altogether...some rust and fiberglass work needed, but nothing some welded patches and bondo wont take care of! The PO had a lame bucket seat installed in the back, but I have some original jump seats in the mail. It also looks like it has a 2in Rancho lift installed, which I like and will keep. But I'll be ditching the big wheels and tires and going back to pizza cutters.

Anywho, I'm very familiar with the 3VZ and 22 series motors, but the 2F and FJ40 are new to me. Thats what led me here! I'll probably read and ask more questions than I contribute for the time being.

20170704_150219.jpg

20170704_132009.jpg

Looks like a fun toy you've got there. Wheels and tires are a very good start. The backspacing will limit your choices (absent spacers) but you can get a set of factory 15" still from your local Toyota dealer. After that, "pizza cutters" are hard to find now that BFG quit making the 33/9.5/15s but the 10.5s are better if not cooler looking tires.

This forum hold all the answers to most of your questions. Check out the FAQs and use the search and answers await! Welcome to the madness friend!