MONSTALINER on a 100 Series Land Cruiser (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

atnolan94

I'm Your Huckleberry
Threads
I did something I have been talking about for two years....I monstalined my 100!! @magnetman
AF411C56-2FE0-4936-AA00-7CB32C6A9192.jpeg

When I got my 100 I knew the paint was not great. To my dismay about a week later when I pulled my fender flares to find thedealer I bought it from applied the rear flares with thick black epoxy. The epoxy that didn’t peel paint of completely was completely stuck on there. There was no getting it off without paint damage. On that day in February 2018 I said I’d monstaline it, and I finally did.

There are countless resources (YouTube) and the instructions are very clear, so rather than regurgitate those, i will just provide some random commentary. There’s a YouTube video called something like “what I’ve learned after

I did the tintable liner in Light Quartz Grey. It reads like a cement in daylight. It’s not quite matte, but definitely not glossy. The texture is much like a textured drywall in a house. Not that gritty abrasive liner like lineX. You could easily run a towel across it without it getting hung up.

Prep is key! I spent a ton of time prepping. A ton. Follow the monstaliner instructions closely. 150 grit sandpaper worked better for me than the scuffing pads. Tape as accuaratepy as you can, but just know this stuff is THICK and you’ll never quite get the lines perfect, but for a $350 paint job I could not be happier.

Rolling is on is easy, but mixing the color and catalyst is downright stressful. Be sure to use new everything for the second coat; new mixing wand, new roller tray, new brushes, new roller.

I used foam brushes to cut in panels before rolling them. Cut in a panel and then roll it. Then move to the next panel. This stuff dries ridiculously fast.