1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

man-a-fre auxillary tank question?

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by wantatlc, Mar 20, 2006.

  1. wantatlc

    wantatlc

    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal - westsiiiide
    so, I have one of the 22 gallon man-a-fre rear auxillary gas tanks under the rear tub on my FJ. works great.

    BUT..... I cannot seem to find out the answer (man-a-fre website does not have it listed from what I can see), nor have I taken the tank off to see, but does that spare tank have the setup on it for a sending unit so I could hook up a gas level gauge? if so, I would like to get another generic sending unit (like on my front tank) and hook it up to a gauage in the truck.

    just poking around, you cannot see above the tank so no way to tell.
     
  2. lingo

    lingo

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    atlanta, ga
    Mine is empty and I am going to pull it in the next day or two. I can relay what I find then.
     
  3. wantatlc

    wantatlc

    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal - westsiiiide
    thanks lingo- that would be helpful.

    BTW, why you pulling it? mine needs to be pulled and cleaned as it has rust.
     
  4. DaveWest5150

    DaveWest5150

    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    if your talking about the tank under the rear or a 40... man a fre didnt make those.. they were from conferr... some have the place for a sending unit some dido not.. They were using them as a transfer tank that fills you stock tank.
    HTH
     
  5. lingo

    lingo

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    atlanta, ga
    i am rebuilding the entire truck. So I thought that I would pull it and inspect it while everything else is apart. It was in the truck when I bought it so the condition is unknown. (truck didn't have an engine.)
     
  6. Steve-O

    Steve-O

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    wantatlc: It actually depends how long you have had the tank. The newer tanks we get out of Australia do come with a sending unit. If you do have the older Con-Ferr unit, I'm not sure if it will have one or not. Companies like autometer make universal ones you can add, but you have to know what your doing when modifying tanks.
     
  7. wantatlc

    wantatlc

    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal - westsiiiide
    well, I would only do it if it had a spot for it. if no hole there for it already, I would not alter it. need it to be easy on me :)

    that being said, without pulling it, anyway of telling if it does? it came on the rig from the PO.

    BTW, this thing looks pretty old.... outside is all rusted over and inside has rust so I need to pull it and get it cleaned and lined (are new ones aluminum)?
     
  8. lingo

    lingo

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    atlanta, ga
    I need a skid plate for mine. does any one have they have made? I was thinking about bending some tube and forming a basket around the back half of the tank. sorry for the high jack.
     
  9. wantatlc

    wantatlc

    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal - westsiiiide
    actually, now that you say that, mine is covered by a skid plate I believe. PO told me "that is a skid plate over that rear tank" I now recall. Maybe it is the skidplate that is so skanky looking when I look up under there. I will shoot a photo.
     
  10. lingo

    lingo

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    atlanta, ga
    Mine has the same one. I meant a skid that would take a hit and not dent my tank. The stupid thing hang so low.
     
  11. jhaha

    jhaha

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Yorktown, Va
    I just bought a universal sender, cut a hole and dropped it in. Works great, just had to bend the float arm so it didn't hit the sides or the bottom.
     
  12. wantatlc

    wantatlc

    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal - westsiiiide
    yeah, now when I go look, it is NOT a skid plate. it is the tank itself. 4 bolts hanging low AND I can see the gas outlet hose coming out of the tank versus coming out of a hole in a skid plate then going to the tank.
     
  13. wantatlc

    wantatlc

    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal - westsiiiide
    I have a generic universal sender and gauge already for my main tank..... but did you do that for a man-a-fre auxillary tank.. and it had no hole?
     
  14. jhaha

    jhaha

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Yorktown, Va
    Yes I took the aux tank, used a hole saw to cut a hole just big enough to fit the float and rod in, figured how the rod needed to be bent, drilled holes for the cap, cleaned the tank about a million times, RTV around the holes and screwed the cap down. Doesn't leak and works well.
     
  15. greenfox

    greenfox

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    That sounds like my old gas tank. It bolts to the body with four long bolts. That tank had a sender hole in it.
     
  16. ducktapeguy

    ducktapeguy

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Greenfox,

    When you say it bolts to the body, which part of the body? I think I might have the same kind, mine bolts to the floor with three very long bolts that go through the tank itself. There are tubes welded all the way through for the bolts to pass through. Mine does not have a hole for the sending unit though.

    How is everyone's elses tanks attached to the body? Does it mount to the frame or the floor of the tub?
     
  17. hi50phd

    hi50phd

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Salty City
    Jhaha. Did you hook the sender up to the stock fuel guage? Or, an aftermarket unit. If to the stock fuel guage, which sender did you use? Thanks.
     
  18. greenfox

    greenfox

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Yes like you said. But not any more I welded three pieces of angle iron to the tank that bolts to the frame. I need to find some pics of that project. I have some good pics of the filler neck set up if you need some.
     
  19. jhaha

    jhaha

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Yorktown, Va
    Mine is an aftermarket autometer gauge. From what I recall the resistance of the stock sender/gauge is either half or twice that of the universal one.
     
  20. hi50phd

    hi50phd

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Salty City
    Shucks, thought you might have found a matching sender. You're correct and the stock is 1/2 most "universals".