KDSS Conundrum (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Goldbug

SILVER Star
Threads
I have a 2011 LC and did a Dobinsons suspension lift about a month ago. I did the requisite steps with loosening and then tightening the KDSS at the time. What I didn’t fully appreciate at the time is that my garage isn’t level due to a floor drain.

I noticed the truck wasn’t level a few days after the lift and have tried multiple times to correct it since, but it’s keeps going back to 1-2” higher on the passenger side.

Should I try to significantly over correct? I’ve been getting it to even. Or do I need to go to the dealer?

Thanks, kinda bummed that I didn’t quite pull off the self install lift.

Take this with a grain of salt as I am not a KDSS expert by any means, just sharing my experience;

On my suspension wise stock 200, I rotated the other day the spare into the mix. During the process I took a break to eat something. I had not done the two turns on the KDSS bolts, never came to my mind to do so. Once i was done i noticed a slight tilt.

I then decided to do the 2 turns and shook/rolled the vehicle on the running boards a bit and let it sit for a while. It then came back to level and I closed the KDSS bolts again. Been level since.

It therefore seems to me:
- KDSS will slowly leak fluid from one part of the circuit to another part with the bolts in the turned in/regular position
- In order to get level the suspension and springs need to be balance/keep the vehicle level with the KDSS bolts turned out (i.e. KDSS not forcing the car)

In your case you may just need to park on a level part of the drive way or road, then undo the bolts 2 turns, perhaps shake/role it a bit and let it sit for say 15 min. Then close the bolts and see what you get.

Hope this makes sense. I may also be wrong in the understanding of the KDSS. Just seems so in the way it responded in my case.