Introduction, Baseline & Half a Year Owning the LX470 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
About Me: I’m pretty new to wrenching on cars. I just started doing my own oil changes in 2021. That being said, I’m an engineer and I’ve taken an interest to maintaining my vehicles. With my family growing, I decided something bigger than my Honda Civic was warranted. The car market was in pandemic mode and I really do hate a car payment. This put me on a search for a quality used vehicle. I was cross shopping between a Crewmax Tundra, GX or Land Cruiser. It was interesting that the GX and LX seemed to have a better bang for your buck when I was searching — no complaints there! Ultimately the Land Cruiser’s rear legroom, split tailgate (read: changing table for baby) and ability to fit in the garage were 3 features that cemented the choice.

The purchase: I found an ’05 LX470 with 192K for sale on craigslist. PO had it undercoated and also was a nut about washing the rig - he outfitted a car wash inside his garage. The LX was in great shape for an ’05 and my primary concern about buying one of these was rust. He did well keeping rust at bay, I’ll aspire to keep that up.

70016715071__AF54F7FF-E83F-4FC0-A96C-298A29E20A0B.jpg

Build Motivation: The word build might be a misnomer - my LX470 probably won’t get a lift, RTT, LED bars or other goodies. I think the LX470 is incredible stock and my focus is refreshing everything and getting it running like a top. I’ve only done a few “mods,” and most of this post will detail my baselining.

Day 1: Bought it and went for an inspection the following day. Failed for the aftermarket tints on the front windows. Put my wife’s clothes steamer on em and took them off with a razor and a careful hand. Got my sticker right after.

1694684922395.png

1694684966162.png