Hard to admit but..... I don't know how to drive off road.... (4 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to off roading and I am looking to learn how and when to use things like the center locking diff, 4hi and 4 low ect. Are there any good videos or articles to read that you would recommend to learn the basics? I am worried that I might damage something if I engage things at the wrong time. If the videos happen to be GX specific that would be awesome but I figure all the systems are similar so anything will be better than nothing.

As soon as you hit the dirt I hit the Center lock button as I did when I added CDL to my 80 series. This one unfortunately doesn't disable ABS brakes like the 80 but is helpful.

It's always in 4Hi so unless you are going down a grade off-road you don't need to switch to 4Lo until you come up to an ovsticle.
The reason you switch to 4Lo on a downhill grade is so you don't have to ride your brakes if you have the transmission shifter on Lo (1) and the transfer case shifter in Lo (LoLo).
So an obstacle will be anything from a good hill climb, rocks, mud, water crossing, etc. The more you wheel the less you will shift into 4Lo because you will learn that you can do many things in 4Hi.
It is best to wheel with someone who has experience especially prior knowledge of the trail you will be doing. They don't need to wheel the same vehicle as you as long as they have good off-road knowledge.
Hope that helps you out a bit.

You're in Nashville, check and see if there is a TLCA club near you.
TLCA members, and most 4x4 clubs for that matter, are full of experienced off-roaders that would love to help you get the most from your truck.
CHAPTERS | TLCA