GX470 replace shocks, keep airbags? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
On my '07 GX470 with 105k miles, I am replacing failing OEM shocks with Bilstein 5100's.

The shop that's doing it for me is telling me I have to replace the airbags with springs at the same time. Is that true? Is there some reasonable argument why it's better to convert the whole system all at once?

From all the threads I've read here, I've gotten the impression that several folks convert from active to passive shocks, and then wait for the airbags to fail before replacing them. That was my plan, since I'd prefer to keep the height control for now.

I'm grateful for any advice you can provide. I'm new to all this.

Last edited:
It's easier to do it all together if you are doing it yourself or if you want to save some money on labor. But, you can definitely do shocks and the airbag conversion separately.

Are you replacing front and rears? If just the rears then yes, just replace the shocks and start gathering parts to do the spring conversion which is really easy. The fronts obviously need to be replaced with a new coilover kit or you can disassemble the units and reuse the old springs...but probably a bad idea. You can keep the airbag function on the center console if you hook up the air lines to some helper air bags that go inside the rear replacement springs which seems to work out just fine. This option will also help level your rig depending on the weight in the back or on the hitch. Sorry for any errors, it's my friday and the tequila is flowing lol!

If just the rears then yes, just replace the shocks and start gathering parts to do the spring conversion which is really easy.
Okay, thanks for confirming.

The fronts obviously need to be replaced with a new coilover kit or you can disassemble the units and reuse the old springs...but probably a bad idea.