Exhaust Manifold Gasket replacement (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Dianna

SILVER Star
Threads
Hi guys, I need to replace the exhaust manifold gasket in my 77 2F. I have found many posts with tips, but I was hoping there is one thread that can make my life easier tearing this apart. It looks like I'm fortunate that I have not yet had to replace it in the 20 years I have had my FJ. I'm sure quite a few of you have done this, any help is appreciated. Perhaps if there isn't a thread outlining the process, I'll create one. :)

That's my issue, there are a bunch of threads. Was hoping for some help if someone knows of one specific thread with all of the information in it, step-by-step. I've never done this before, and I don't want to mess it up, or do it twice, by missing something.

Get the factory manual (FSM) and read it - that's the gold standard of repair info.

It's pretty straightforward - remove the carb and linkage bits (disassembling as little as necessary), remove the exhaust collector, and then the 6 nuts/bolts holding the manifold pair to the engine. You will likely unbolt the manifolds, replace all the gaskets, put them back together, and then see how flat they sit against the engine. Either machine the manifolds, or don't, but install a new Fel Pro gasket, and then assembly is the reverse of disassembly. Take photos as you go, and look for cracks in the bottom of the intake manifold (under the carb) and elsewhere.