Diagnosing Timing Chain- I’m new to the 22re (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Josey1972

SILVER Star
Threads
I’m new to the 22re and am trying to figure out an occasional timing chain rattle. Everything Ive been able to find about replacement is when it rattles at idle. I take that to mean all the time at idle which I am currently not experiencing.

My situation:

I get a very occasional 5-10 second rattle at start up. I fired up the truck 8 or so times yesterday and it did it on one of those start ups only. Is it the beginning of the full time idle rattle or something else? I have read that OEM Oil filters don‘t always hold the oil like they should. Maybe thats a possibility. I have yet to pull the valve cover and look at the guides but in this “occasionally happening” situation I don‘t know that I will be able to see anything.

The engine supposedly has 50k on it but I have no idea what that means and neither does the PO or the PO before him.

Any insight is appreciated.

Sounds like you need a new chain tensioner. It does have a spring, but a lot of the force on the plunger is generated by the oil pressure. Eventually it gets tired. Might also think about getting a new oil pump. You have to take it off to get to the chain anyway.

Sounds like you need a new chain tensioner. It does have a spring, but a lot of the force on the plunger is generated by the oil pressure. Eventually it gets tired. Might also think about getting a new oil pump. You have to take it off to get to the chain anyway.
Thank you. After doing more reading after the post I was asking myself the same question. Appreciated.