CV Swap / Wheel Bearings / AHC Lift / Other Needed Items??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all,

I've had my LX for almost a month now, everything mechanically seems good, however my driverside CV Shaft is going out, it's grinding under load when I turn right. I've ordered a pair of CVJ reman'd OEM shafts and a new set of wheel bearing just to have everything upfront nice and new. The brakes are ok for now, but wondering if there is any other "while I'm at it" maintenance I should plan on while I have it apart? Like some seals or whatever? I'm new to this truck, and can tackle whatever is needed, I just need to know what it is :)

Also planning the AHC Spacer lift and a diff drop, when I do this, I'll flush the AHC system and try to ballance it out, I'm guessing I may need the King Springs to achieve this? Has anyone had to bump up their torsion bars to the medium duty?

Also, is there a super secret hidden thread on LC/LX CV shaft swap threads? I've found zero, there are a couple on tundras, if everything is pretty similar then I'm ok. I'm just having a hard time believeing there isn't one out there yet. Just wondering.

Thanks,

Bill

Last edited:
If you want piece of mind and long service use only OEM axles.

Perfect, I'll review and let you know how it goes, thanks so much.

Also, I'm using oem remanufactured axles.

Good choice, CVJ only rebuilds OEM and only takes OEM cores.

When doing your search's it's helpful to use Toyota part terms like "Front Drive Shaft" as well as street name "CV". Just one more thing (terms) the FSM is good for.

Make sure dust seal outboard and dust cover inboard are on each end of front drive shafts.
Here's outboard dust seal:
DS FT Drive shaft seal, Knuckle, wheel bearing & axle hub 019.JPG

Here's Inboard Dust cover:
010.JPG