CDL Woes (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.37trees.com
Newbie here...sorry if this is totally trivial.

First off, i have searched the archives on this and found a good bit of info...but still have an error.

on my '96 '80 i have not been able to get the center diff light on the dash to light, and therefore, have not been able to get the front or rear lockers to engage.

What i have done so far - shift into low and drive around, make turns etc. (it seems to be in low as it is pulling much harder and shifting differently) - no dash light.

I have pulled the input into the t-case on the front by the drive shaft and shorted across it with a paper clip. I get a clicking in the DS kick panel, but still no light. I have checked all fuses and they seem to be good.

Any suggestions on how to proceed next?

I, along with you am having the same problem. when i put the truck in low the CDL does not lock as it should. i have checked all plugs under the car and nothing seems wrong. all the fuses are fine, the only thing i can think of is the actuator. i have driven it in cirlce for over 10 min on ice and dirt in low trying to get it to lock up but nothing and as you said i here the clicking sound coming form the kick panel as well. if i find anything out i will get back to you. i may just take it in soon if i can find time.

Turn the key on without starting the motor and lock the CDL in L or with the CDL switch.
When my light wasn't comming on I could still hear tha actuator noise.
I just drove around locking and unlocking the CDL (I have the CDL switch)while shifting into N while coasting. It locked one time when I put it into N. Works fine after that.
Does your ABS light come on?

My ABS light does not come on either.