Anyone recognize this not transfer case sound (FJ62)? (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Gah, you crack me up with the Toyota memes! I bet you’ve never seen one of these before. Post #157

i keep it extreemly dry and light here at the LAB

its healthy to make phun of ones self and reduces stress , i enjoy helping others for a living , and heck , if i can do it my way , more power to me !

My Teq WORSHIP SHRINES are comeing your way watch out ! 🤣

Check for vacuum leak/s around the 2wd-4wd vacuum actuator on the transfer case and particularly all the vacuum hoses, joins and fittings etc related to it.

Best way to isolate the exact area of noises is to use 'the garden hose stethoscope'.

Get about 3 feet or so of hose like garden hose, fuel hose, heater hose, air hose or whatever you have.
Hold one end to your ear and move the other end around the general area where the noise is coming from.
You're trying to locate where the noise is the loudest, and the hose works really well for this.
It's a very good way of pinpointing the source of weird noises.

You did mention that the squeak sounded like it was coming from around the starter area and the 2wd/4wd actuator and vacuum lines are pretty close.

Notice that the very last bit of 'the noise' sounds pretty much the same every time. Makes me think it could be a vacuum leak.

Check for vacuum leak/s around the 2wd-4wd vacuum actuator on the transfer case and particularly all the vacuum hoses, joins and fittings etc related to it.

Best way to isolate the exact area of noises is to use 'the garden hose stethoscope'.

Get about 3 feet or so of hose like garden hose, fuel hose, heater hose, air hose or whatever you have.
Hold one end to your ear and move the other end around the general area where the noise is coming from.
You're trying to locate where the noise is the loudest, and the hose works really well for this.