‘89 LJ70 - ‘upgrade’ 2L-T to 2L2-T, wiring help! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all, long time lurker 1st time poster.

I wish in had read up more before getting a ‘89 LJ70 with a 2LT.

Even worse, after catastrophic failure I bot another 2LT engine to replace it AND double trouble turns out it’s a 2LT-2 (or 2L2-T) from a 4Runner.

I have no experience with auto mechanics but have a friend with experience helping.

So far, we have:
- removed the old engine
- transferred the old alternator
- bolted in the new engine
- added a new horizontal oil filter
- added a new simple diesel filter (bypass the original system in the car)
- reattached the throttle linkage with a bracket
- reworked the turbo air inlet and various other conduits

Also we will:
- plug the additional lines from the injection pump
- adapt the turbo exhaust for the different flange angle

Whilst I would like to make some mods I need to get this running quick and dirty as Everyday this isn’t running I am risking divorce having vetoed getting another car in favour of this engine.

That’s biggest problem we face now (as far as we know) is that the wiring harness for the 2L2-T is much more extensive than what we have available on the car.

I have trawled thru many online manuals but being a newb I have not been able to isolate the 2L2-T wiring so we can adapt to the old LJ70 setup.

So question: can one of you fine people step a newb who’s WAY over his head thru the wiring requirements.

We don’t have an AC/compressor.

Pictures to follow

Thanks in advance!

Photos:

170F1B6A-1E87-438F-BBCC-FEA83EDFB770.jpeg

60F433E7-DF96-415D-BABD-A624FE08ED2C.jpeg

39F41C76-1379-4BB3-B1CD-CAEE243CE5A7.jpeg

D9D02762-4999-484A-A181-0E3DC795A6C9.jpeg

484A801D-355A-46BF-B3B6-21D5E1E92C96.jpeg

@Paterno, I went down this road too.
Don't let the wiring overwhelm you.