1hdt information (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
G'day guys, about 6 months ago i bought a jan 92 80 series GXL factory turbo diesel manual, purchased off an older mechanic who owned the past 14 years. Has roughly 535xxxkms on her, has new injector pump, and I replaced the Big end bearings and bolts about 3000ks ago, other than that i think its factory.. thinking about upgrading the turbo to something like an arashi or kinugawa with a gtx3071r core.. running caltex delo 400 15w 40, and just fitted a redback 3inch turbo back exhaust system. Im no mechanic but have a rough idea of what im doing and i dont think ill ever pay anyone to fix/work on my cars and never have, but im new to the diesel scene.. Anyway just want to know peoples thoughts on what ive bought myself, paid 8k for it and its a gem in my eyes.. has a slightly low/rough idle sometimes, and has an intermittent what sounds like light finger nails on a tin can around 2000-2300ish rpm, other than that its a weapon.. thinking about installing a part time 4x4 kit down the line as well..
Might be a bit scattered like i am but any help/info/recommendations is appreciated, cheers lads and lasses ✌

Leave the turbo alone; she won like it and it's no use without an intercooler. So first; install intercooler, fiddle around with the injectorpump (search for yourself) and install an egt meter.
I left the engine completely stock; if I want to go fast, I take the motorbike.

Lots of info in the Diesel section on this kind of thing, most guys in the 80 section are working with North American models.

Agree with @IanB . Unlike gas/petrol engines, running a leaner mixture with the help of more boost is beneficial on a diesel. Lots of guys run 14-20psi to keep EGTs down. Check out the diesel section for recommendations on turbos and tuning.

Welcome to the 80 crew!