1984 engine parts question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So, I'm just about ready to pull the knackered engine out of our 1984 rig. (I'm new to 60s.) I got another engine from an '84 to replace it. I want to replace some seals and gaskets before installing it. This is a budget rig, and I went to rockauto.com for parts. Parts searching comes up with a mid-production year parts change. Problem is I have no idea if it's an early or late 1984 engine? Furthermore, I'd be curious what changes there are in the 1984 engine production, if any?
Experience and advice pls.
Thank you,
Scot
(Yes, I downloaded the FSM.)

IMG_0548.jpg

IMG_0684.jpg

There's info in this thread on how to decode the casting # on the block to get month/year.

2F serial number info...

Definitely a question for Onur, but I don’t think there is anything significant changes to the 2F across the years. There are slight changes to other parts,, like drive shafts and such.

My only advice when buying parts, especially seals... go OEM, or you’ll be doing the work again soon.

That's a nice truck! LHD, too! What engine?

Mighty690 looks like your projects haven’t ended.
Nice your son are doing that together.

Differences:

1. Head gasket
2. Timing cover gasket
3. Timing plate gasket
4. Rear main
5. AC belt
Is there an easy way for me to tell which one it is without knowing the birthdate of the engine? Rear main would be smart to change at this point!

Since Onur might weigh in, I thought he'd like:

View attachment 1781877

View attachment 1781878
Off topic but how is this truck legal in the state? Unless it has provisional plates or something. I want me one of those...