13BT IP Timing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Have a 13BT with an upgraded CT26 w/ Garrett 60-1 wheel. Biggest issue is it’s slow to boost. Not intercooled yet not sure if that would help, but I started to play with the timing some today but I’m totally new to messing with Injection Pump timing. I moved the whole pump about a 1mm advanced and no more white smoke on startup and boost seemed to come on faster, hitting 20 PSI around 2800 instead of 3000 RPM. EGTs definitely cooler also, no smoke when max throttle at 1400-2000. My question is how do I know the limit on advancing the timing? Picture shows how much I adjusted today.
IMG_8474.jpeg

I'd say the main issue is the turbo is most likely far too big.

Do you have an FSM? This outlines the procedure and specifications for checking and adjusting the timing?

I'd say the main issue is the turbo is most likely far too big.

Do you have an FSM? This outlines the procedure and specifications for checking and adjusting the timing?
I do have the FSM, that’s what I’ve been going off of. Mainly just wondering what the signs are in going too far so I can quickly back off. I do agree the turbo could possibly be too big, if I can’t get it to spool up lower in the revs I’d like to upgrade to a GTurbo but I’d like to tinker with this first rather than throw a turbo down the drain that’s only about a year old too. Also not sure on the turbo wheel specs on GTurbo didn’t get any info on that when I emailed them.