100 series timing belt replacement cost? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all,

Wondering what a ballpark cost is to have the timing belt service performed? I’m new to 100 series trucks and I am looking at an LX470 but the timing belt has not been done. 125k miles. Thanks.

DIY - Timing belt, water pump, new belt tensioners, misc parts alone were $500. I did belt change #2 so included everything. First one was done by Toyota dealer for $500, but that was a decade ago. (Someone screwed up in the marketing department, no doubt). Fairly time consuming, getting crankshaft pulley off requires a few cusswords (and special tool) but straightforward after that.

1572820638654.png

Mine was replaced in 2018: $1285.92 ($200 of it was the water pump replacement that I requested).

For posterity for others, I'll add: If a place quotes you <$750 for a 2UZ timing belt job, they're skipping semi-optional steps. A good timing belt job with some other misc parts replacement SHOULD cost over $1k. If it doesn't, you should be skeptical.

Count on at least $1k.

Average through job is probably more like $1500.

My DIY job was ~$1300 in discounted dealer parts alone, nevermind my labor.

Hello all,

Wondering what a ballpark cost is to have the timing belt service performed? I’m new to 100 series trucks and I am looking at an LX470 but the timing belt has not been done. 125k miles. Thanks.
I just had timing belt and water pump done by local mechanic (Alan's of Vista, California) for $800. Got a quote from the El Cajon Lexus dealer for $961. Incidentally my belt had 132K on it and was by no means looking like it would break but it was stretched a bit and gone soft.