100 Series Overland build..where to start? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Newbie here, I purchased a 2004 LX 470 (220k) in January and want to pursue a Overland build with it. I've been reading through some posts on the forum and genuinely appreciate the incredible knowledge contained here, though to a point it's a bit overwhelming.

Lee's (ga12r1) build has caught my eye as what I'd like my rig to look like, though I wonder if it's more than I need? I imagine I'll be sticking to gravel roads for a while as I gain confidence in off-roading, and I want to avoid being one of those guys which a truck that is seriously over built but never fully utilized...

My thought is to start with
  • A lift, Icon? (unsure on which stage 1-3 would be what I need)
  • New wheels and tires
  • Dissent front bumper
  • Winch? (unsure how much I'd use it initially)
  • Rear locker? (or wait till phase 2 of the build?)
  • Other stuff I'm missing?
Then there's the other "stuff" I'm not as clear on, it seems like other suspension/under body components get replaced: torsion bars, front and rear upper and lower control arms, panhard bar, diff drops, <Is that all stuff I should be considering as well?

To add, the truck has ACH, and it's working fine so far. I believe there are ways to make it run in it's "high" setting for a "lift", should I consider that? Or just ditch it and get a true lift

I live in Las Vegas, had an initial phone call with this off road shop: Maximum Offroad Performance - Las Vegas, NV
They seem well reviewed though I'm not sure how many 100 Series they've worked on.

Anyone have experience with them? Or have another recommendation?

Any members in the area?

Many thanks in advance.
Nick

4.jpeg

Last edited: