Katit's LX470 2000 - take #2 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Time to start new topic!

As some of you may remember I have some experience with..

2 years later and now my daughter needs a first car. For some reason - LC 100 is her "dream car" go figure. For me - if I get used car that I have to work on - have to be LX. I just loved how it drove and it is easy to work on. Soo.. Search began. My main requirements were "all original", preferably below 200k, no paint job, no rust, no mods. And cheaper then most of them we see around...

Truck came from AR. Today I flew there and brought it to STL. Drove 350 miles, made it home.

Not sure how I am going to structure this topic. Probably this first post will list all of the action items and a progress. And I will post questions/details as usual...

NEED TO FIX
1. AHC
2. AC
3. Remote Key(s)

NICE TO DO
1. Front seats upholstery
2. Seat heaters don't seem to work
3. Center armrest replace/reupholster
4. Multimedia with CarPlay and 360 camera(s)
5. Steering wheel motor (U/D)
6. Steering wheel play (steering column bushings)

IMG_6294.jpg

IMG_6293.jpg

What I know about the car... This is story from Lexus owner portal and CarFax. Red is my notes on this.. I was aware of all this, I figured it's still OK to buy.

Owner 1 (not very smart person - read below)
Owned from new
Had cupholders issues
Had steering wheel tilt issues
75k miles: ~|~C/S CAR FEELS LIKE IT HAS NO SUSPENSION AT ALL SINCE 3 WEEKS AGO...HAS EXT WTY HERE ~|~HYDRAULIC SUSPENSION SYSTEM FLUID CONTAMINATION ~|~THE HYDRAULIC SUSPENSION SYSTEM FLUID HAS BEEN CONTAMINATED WITH WHAT APPEARS TO BE WASHER SOLVENT AND/OR WATER. THIS HAS CAUSED SYSTEM FAILURE AND DAMAGE TO SYSTEM COMPONENTS. THIS ESTIMATE REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF COMPONENTS AND A THOROUGH FLUSH OF SYSTE