FT-7800 and slee Rear Bumper antenna location/selection (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Romer

fatherofdaughterofromer
Threads
Taking my test next weekend and have gotten some great advice from Groucho, Nakman and Chris Hatfield on equipment. I think I'll go with the FT-7800 as I don't really think I'll use the Crossband repeat. There was a shole discussion on this in the RS forum.

So now to the antenna. I have the Slee rear bumper that has two antenna points. One on the top part of the Tire carrier (current location of CB ant) and one on the tire carrier down near the spindle.

I also would like to be able to get it into my garage. I currently run a 2FT CB ant in town and don't put the 4ft on till I am heading to the hills (2ft fits, 4Ft doesn't in the garage).

So looking for advice and pics (if you have them) on antennas and locations with my rear bumper in mind.

I am new at this stuff, but as soon as I pass my test next week I want to order my stuff so I can get it installed before Moab. I should get my license by then.

From my limited experience, I think you should avoid using the bumper. It will work, but not as well as if you'd mounted it to the roof, hood, or rear hatch. Check out this dude's web site: http://www.k0bg.com/ he's got tons to say on the matter.. most of it is really good stuff.

Hopefully Groucho or Mr. Paradise or someone will pipe in with a better reason than I, those guys know all.

Slee bumper antenna mount

Romer,

You need one of these:
0.250 Stainless plate, 18GA stainless box for a silver plated so-239. Box is TIG welded to plate all around, so-239 is silicone sealed to box. Stainless hardware to avoid corrosion. All custom.