First FJ40!!! - Build Up Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
First FJ40!!! - Build Up Thread - Whistle help???

First off I am a NEWBIE!!!! So bring on the:flipoff2: ...

OK... I finally did it. I got my first 40 last week. Its basically a barn find from up in the GA mtns. A 1977 with 62K miles. Original everything... almost. Clutch, and timing belt replaced some time back. New front bumper and newer tires.

Thoughts anyone on what to do first... Want to keep it original looking and a daily driver.

Thinking of rebuilding the front knuckles and overall tune up. What I need help with first is diagnosing is a high pitched whistle at low RPMs. I was told by a friend that it may be a vacuum leak. Where do I start with that?

Here are the pix on my Picasa page:

Picasa Web Albums - Jonathan - 1977 Toyota F...

Picasa Web Albums - Jonathan - Land Cruiser ...

Thanks for any advice!!! and Recommendations!!!

Last edited:
That is a real sweet find. Get some good degreaser and clean those front knuckles up. The leak a little grease over time and maybe that is what has accumulated over a real long time. Either way you will see what you are dealing with. As for the vacuum leak, best place to start is with a real good listen. Could be leaking anywhere, easier to listen and narrow it down when it is low RPM leak, less noise.

Thanks for that... I will try and locate the whistle as best as possible.

I have heard that knuckle rebuilds are best done by the pros... Cause they are messy, confusing and difficult?... Thoughts?

I was also told that desmoging was a next good step... Thoughts on a desmog? Keeping in mind resale, MPG and legality.

Can anyone show me a good thread on desmoging pros/cons?

Thanks!!!