Worn Leather and Fixes (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

CactusHopper

aka PapaCruiser
SILVER Star
Threads
I've read through the threads on repairing the LX 570 seats and saw lots of recommendations for Leatherique and a few example applications. I have a 2013 LX with the semi-aniline seats.

Below are photos of the wear on the driver's left bolster. Frist off, geez, that looks like bonded leather with the peeling! But I'm no expert, have just owned lots of leather products including a semi-aniline couch that has had daily wear for 12 years and isn't doing this....

Anyway, does this call for using a filler and dye? If I go that route, does that mean I need to dye the entire seat to ensure a match?

Is this something that's going to get severely worse quickly, requiring more intensive surgery, or is it good to leave alone until I get to it (year or a few years)? Not in a hurry to do this, just wanting see what you all think of this level of wear and best approach to restore.

Thanks!

1696286331720.png

1696286354001.png

1696286369675.png

Last edited:
I've read through the threads on repairing the LX 570 seats and saw lots of recommendations for Leatherique and a few example applications. I have a 2013 LX with the semi-aniline seats.

Below are photos of the wear on the driver's left bolster. Frist off, geez, that looks like bonded and not genuine leather with the peeling! But I'm no expert, have just owned lots of leather products including a semi-aniline couch that has had daily wear for 12 years and isn't doing this....

Anyway, does this call for using a filler and dye? If I go that route, does that mean I need to dye the entire seat to ensure a match?