Winch cover, yes or no? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just installed a new Warn winch and I have no experience with them so I was just wondering if it would be a good idea to purchase a cover, or is it not really necessary. I'm thinking that it would probably be a good idea to protect my investment, but IDK. What say you all?

I just installed a new Warn winch and I have no experience with them so I was just wondering if it would be a good idea to purchase a cover, or is it not really necessary. I'm thinking that it would probably be a good idea to protect my investment, but IDK. What say you all?
Synthetic rope is susceptible to UV, and breaking a rope while winching can be extremely dangerous in some situations, so protecting the rope from the sun could be prudent. More prudent if the vehicle is usually parked outside in a southern state, no idea if this is a concern in Alaska. Mold or rot might be a concern in wet climates, but maybe it wouldn't affect the synthetic fibers. I have no experience in cold climates, but I'd guess that if the rope got wet and then froze it could complicate things when you try to use it. The winch itself is not affected much by weather, at least not any more than the rest of the vehicle. Wire rope (cable) isn't either, which is about the only thing going for it IMO.