What parts do you keep on hand for the ‘what if’s’?? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I just carry my tool bag that served me in the 80. There are probably some 80-specific tools I could pull out now. If we're talking about at home, I could practically build a working vehicle from all the junk I have laying around from various rigs past and present.

I'm new to wheeling in a 200 and not sure what spares I should bring for trail repairs. I assume a spare front CV, but I'm not sure what else I might expect to break. Tie rod ends? I dunno, you guys tell me.

I'm new to wheeling in a 200 and not sure what spares I should bring for trail repairs. I assume a spare front CV, but I'm not sure what else I might expect to break. Tie rod ends? I dunno, you guys tell me.
People don't seem to break CVs without a lift that allows extra suspension droop. TREs are pretty bomb proof.

There really isn't much that happens on these that will strand you.. I think I've read about starter being a problem (on-trail) once? There is a work around for that but it isn't easy and requires a special tool.

@cruiseroutfit @Taco2Cruiser @sleeoffroad @Markuson may have something to add.

Someone brought their LX through the rubicon but I think the AHC failed.. not sure what the specific cause was.

I'm working on the "long travel" AHC mods, so CV-endangering droop may be on the near horizon.

You are much more likely to be locked out of 4Lo by an evap code than any other failure. A bluetooth OBD adapter and app is arguably the most important thing to have on hand.

You are much more likely to be locked out of 4Lo by an evap code than any other failure. A bluetooth OBD adapter and app is arguably the most important thing to have on hand.

Man is this ever TRUE.
Bleeping annoying too…but at least evap codes clear with a OBD2.