Thinking of getting 1st gen Sequoia (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello everyone,

I’m new here, I last posted on ih8mud a few months ago regarding a Lexus GX470 I was looking at.

The responses I received were quite helpful, but I ultimately passed on that vehicle due to the fact it wasn’t large enough for my family.

So, lately I’ve been thinking about looking for a first gen Sequoia 4wd. I’m a huge Toyota fan, I’ve had 3 Camrys, my current one is at 225k miles and has been an excellent vehicle, I just want an SUV that is off road capable, and I personally like the looks of the first gen Sequoia better than the second gen.

My questions are simple: what are the pitfalls with the first gen and what should I look for when inspecting these things?

I’m pretty comfortable with mechanical repairs, up to and including engine rebuilds (and i’m a helicopter Mechanic by profession🤣), so there’s not a ton I’m worried about there. I just don’t want to go into this completely blind.

I’m thinking of an SR5, maybe 06-07 but I’m not set on that.

Anyway, thanks in advance for any help you all can give!

Dan

Not much in terms of pitfalls. Biggest thing on all of them is to check undercarriage for rust. Everything else is relatively simple to work on.

Many need some refreshed suspension. Key things to check are lower ball joints (OEM preferred) and when timing belt/water pump/pulleys were replaced (90,000 to 100,000 miles intervals).

'01-'04 - 4 speed transmission, physical shift lever for transfer case, non-VVTi
'05-'07 - 5 speed transmission, push button hi/lo transfer case, VVTi (slightly more horsepower)

Common problems that can be fixed:
Leaky rack and pinion
Lower ball joints
Rusted upper nuts on rear shocks
Broken plastics in interior
Broken antenna
Broken rear hatch handle
Secondary air injection ('05-'07)