Soft/fading brake pedal (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Trying to confirm my suspicions and thought I’d check with the pros on the forum incase there’s something I haven’t thought of.

I have a 73 FJ40 with OEM power brakes.

Under formal driving conditions the brake pedal is very soft “squishy” on the first press and then you can pump it a few times to get full brake pedal feel back. If you press and hold the pedal after you get full brake pedal feel back it will slowly fade back to soft pedal feel.

No signs of fluid leaks from the wheel cylinders, master cylinder or line connections.

I ran through 2 jugs of brake fluid to bleed the lines. Seems to bleed fine although the back brakes didn’t yield as much fluid as the front did when bleeding.

I suspect a bad master cylinder but I’m fairly new to Land Cruisers so before I just start throwing parts at it, wanted to see if there were other suggestions on trouble shooting.

Thank you

Master and slave cylinders are a good place to start. I would also consider replacing any soft lines you might have.

well disregard my response, my reading comprehension is bad this morning. Your brakes need help not the clutch

It sounds like you still have air in the system. Folks have had trouble getting drum brakes bled. There's a lot of info here using the search function here or on the internet and clicking on sources from this site. 1st clamp the rear soft line and check the pedal, then do the frt to isolate the issue. I think most folks adjust the brakes to the max, to remove any play in the shoes and the wheels don't spin, then bleed. Once successful in bleeding, then properly adjust the brakes.

Sounds like trapped air. Are your front cylinders installed the right way up? If not then they'll never bleed.

Turn off the engine and see how they feel - the servo can confuse the symptoms.