Put 100 octane (low lead) Aviation fuel in my 80 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Is that bad. I just got done installing my COMEUP Winch 9.5 rsi Seal . I was so happy I drove to the little local airstrip to Photograph it. And after I was done I put 15 Gallons of 100 octane low lead AV Gas in my Landcruiser.
Is that an issue? I have never done this before. I was stoked and it was a spur of the moment idea.
Cruiser runs great, seems to have a little more quicker response on the pedal.
A little more power as well.
I live in California, vehicles call for Unleaded Fuel.
Will this hurt the CAT? or anything else?
btw, Shell Premium is going for 3.50 a gallon, the AV Gas was 4.50 a gallon. Here in the Napa Valley.
Not planning on doing this again.

100 LL Ave gas is chalked full of lead, and if you keep running it, it will do damage to your cats, plus it can foul your O2 sensors with prolonged use. We use to run 100 LL in the shops race car,(it was over a buck less per gallon then race gas) even though they call it LL it has almost as much lead in it as leaded 100 octane race gas does. I remember reading a report written about 10 years ago were they compared the amount of lead in Sunoco race gas used in Nascar, to 100 LL Ave gas. The report stated that the difference in the amount of lead between the two fuels was about 2% less lead in 100LL compared to Sunoco race gas.

Last edited:
I don’t think it will hurt anything just this once. Personally I’d fill up to dilute it a bit. I doubt that would actually make a difference, but it would help my peace of mind.