prinsu racks and 270 awnings - question (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

prinsu rack good for low profile design. not good for 270 awnings.

Interesting thread...
They do offer 270 Brackets for them, but spec the lighter awnings (Eezi-Awn, Fox wing).. so there could be some relevance there....

but they also spec a 600Lb dynamic load rating (more than the roof actually so... not sure if that is real or relevant)...

I guess I'll see which awning I'll go with.. I agree the Bush Company is a big lift for an awning given the weight... That may be for a welded rack such as the K9 or even a front runner..

My old ARB 2500mm will be the first one up anyway but I would like to cover the rear when it is raining, hence the 270 awning question.

I have been running Ostrich Wing 270 on my Prinsu for a couple of years now. I am using three mounts and there is minimal to no flex. I use two Kaon mounts and one prinsu mount. I used a combination of mounts due to space requirements for the cargo boxes I ran on top. I don't think I have any pictures, but will take some this weekend.

Thank you in advance for the pictures if your able... I have seen those and they are nice...
3 mounts (or 4 even) would probably be required for any of these bug awnings on any rack.

IMG_9532.jpeg

IMG_9530.jpeg

IMG_9529.jpeg

IMG_9528.jpeg

thanks again...
I just minted the Prinsu today (among other stuff) still need some HW doe 3 cross bars since (it was 2nd hand)..
the Kaon mounts look like they are the ticket for the bigger awnings..

Also I see what everyone means about the side rails - But... once it is all bolted together it is very stiff.. (mine has 10 cross bars I think... idk.. a lot was done this weekend...) so right now I don't see an issue.. the only thing that kinda worries me is the front section being a bit long without supports..