NOOB Center Locking Diff Question

Here's a potentially ridiculous noob question. Is it true that all 80s are center locking diff capable. I heard that if you just buy a center locking diff switch, the vehicle is already wired for the feature. Sorry for the dumb question, but I'm a 4Runner nut, and I'm just getting started on the LX.

:cheers:,
Jason

great! thanks

Your center diff automatically locks whenever you put it in low, adding the switch and doing the "pin 7" (check the FAQ) mod allows you to engage/disengage manually, in hi or lo.

firetruck41 said:
Your center diff automatically locks whenever you put it in low, adding the switch and doing the "pin 7" (check the FAQ) mod allows you to engage/disengage manually, in hi or lo.

From Slee's Tech article on the Pin 7 mod: "DO NOT DO THIS MODIFICATION IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A CENTER DIFFERENTIAL LOCK SWITCH INSTALLED"

So its one or the other, I guess.

KC Cruiser said:
From Slee's Tech article on the Pin 7 mod: "DO NOT DO THIS MODIFICATION IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A CENTER DIFFERENTIAL LOCK SWITCH INSTALLED"

So its one or the other, I guess.
No, reread it, you should only do this mod if you have the switch, if not, the Pin 7 mod is useless and probably means your center diff will never lock automatically. I have the switch and the pin 7 mod, and it works as advertised.

You can just add the switch w/out the Pin 7 mod, IIRC it will give you the ability to engage the CDL in Hi, but not the ability to disengage in Lo.

Last edited:
firetruck41 said:
No, reread it, you should only do this mod if you have the switch, if not, the Pin 7 mod is useless and probably means your center diff will never lock automatically. I have the switch and the pin 7 mod, and it works as advertised.

You can just add the switch w/out the Pin 7 mod, IIRC it will give you the ability to engage the CDL in Hi, but not the ability to disengage in Lo.