Newbie with 1985 BJ 73 no start (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Howdy guys. I am a complete novice with diesel engines and with my 1985 BJ 73. Hopefully I am posting this in the correct section. If not, let me know. And thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Anyways, it has the 3B engine in it, and a few weeks ago it starting pouring coolant out of the tailpipe and blowing engine oil over the front side of the block. I self diagnosed a blown head gasket, and a cracked head. Replaced both those things (head gasket and cylinder head unit) and got the whole thing put back together. It cranks over fine, but it will not start.

The first big problem is that I cannot build up fuel pressure. I have pumped and pumped on the primer to no avail. So I am assuming some interior seal has gone out and the primer pump needs replacement. On my vehicle it is a combo unit with the primer pump sitting on top of the fuel filter itself. On several other threads I have read about replacing the primer pump because it is junk, but that part looks nothing like what I have. Is there some modification I need to do to, or is there a vehicle specific primer pump I need to buy?

Second big problem: I was desperate to hear the engine run (to double check that fuel delivery was my only issue) that I tried spraying some diesel into the intake manifold and cranking the engine. It still wouldn't run at all. It didn't even try to catch. So I switched to spraying WD-40 into the intake because I thought I wasn't getting enough atomization of the diesel for it to combust properly. Still nothing. So I am starting to worry that I missed something when I re-assembled the engine. Is there anything like a kill switch or a hidden reset button I have to push?

I appreciate you guys reading all this, sorry for the long post. I hope to get it back in running condition soon!