New to the Club and Already Botched My 1st DIY (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Greetings! I was shopping for a 200 series but saw this 05 LX470 with 160K on the odometer popped up asking for $10K and snatched it up. Minimum rust for a northeast vehicle. I’m a competent DIY mechanic and was pretty satisfied with the inspection.

First I tried was to take a look at the burnt inner tail light bulb, but one screw felled into the crack and never to be seen again.

The truck drove home across multiple states with little problem but the next day it threw CEL, VSC Trac and VSC OFF lights on an easy local hockey dad drive. OH SH*T was an understatement for how I felt at the moment.

Noting there is a bit of crust on the battery terminals, I cleaned and tightened them, and all lights were gone! Chalk one in the win column.

Questions for the forum:

1. Is there a website like realoem.com for BMWs, that you can plug in a VIN and get factory correct parts diagrams and part numbers? “What’s the part number of that lost screw?” would be an easy answer on the website and a ballpark price.

2. What are some of the better online sources for Toyota and Lexus parts? And how often/when discount events happen?

3. For the tail light, it should be Sylvania 7443 based on my search. Can I use LED bulbs?

Cheers!

IMG_1006.jpeg

IMG_1005.jpeg

IMG_1007.jpeg

IMG_1001.jpeg

Welcome!

Partsouq is your best bet for that parts diagram and often for best pricing.

Many Toyota dealers run promos, those often seem like higher discounts and lower prices than Lexus counterparts. Decatur in Alabama has 25% off and free shipping right now. Often there are threads on this forum to note good deals.

Welcome to the madness!
Use partsouq.com (as @T4R2TLC mentioned) has good prices and if you plug in your VIN, will get you correct part numbers, often with an accompanying diagram.